Happy Birthday

By Tiffany Esmailian

July 19, 1981:

An angel is born into this world.
A beautiful and healthy baby girl
Celebrated her first day on this earth,
And made everyone smile from the moment of birth.

September 1, 1993:

Now I was born into this world,
And was able to meet this beautiful girl.
She now had a new baby cousin,
Who thought time was forever, but it sure wasn’t.

July 19, 1994:

Happy 13th birthday, Alene – you’re now a teen.
Although I was less than a year, I’m glad it’s something I had seen.
I spent her birthday with her as I should,
But little did I know, there was only a few more times I could.

January 1, 2008:

Things began to head downhill.
I couldn’t stand the sight of you ill.
“Keep fighting – be strong,”
But an angel can only resist God’s strength for so long.

July 19, 2008:

Happy 27th , my fighter.
I hoped your 28th would be brighter.
I hoped you’d get well again.
I hoped maybe we’d celebrate then.

September 1, 2008:

A not so happy 15th birthday to me.
Some thought I was too young to see,
But everything was crystal clear.
I kept thinking to myself – Alene, get well and get here.

October 15, 2008:

Chills. Bad Chills. Chills you hate to feel.
The thought of losing you was nothing close to real.
I wasn’t ready to lose you – I still need you everyday.
They said time would make it better, but it hasn’t ‘til today.

July 19, 2009:

What is there left to do?
Your birthday is not a birthday if we’re here without you.
Happy 28th – wasn’t this supposed to be the year?
I guess we’ll never know if you’re no longer physically here.

July 19, 2013:

Thirty two would have been the year – I know it would have been great.
But I’ve been saying that every year since you were 28.
Happy birthday, Alene; I know there’s a celebration in Heaven,
But it hurts to not have celebrated with you since you were 27.

This entry was posted in Collection, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

