The Writer's Den

UCLA's creative writing student group

NaNoWriMo is approaching!

5 Comments

In exactly twenty-four days November 1st will be upon us, and you (may or may not) know what that means—National Novel Writing Month will be in full swing!

I have a five-year NaNoWriMo winning streak that I don’t dare break, so if anyone is interested in participating this year and needs some sort of motivator/spiritual guide/taskmaster, I can offer you advice and physical force encouragement for catching up on your word count. I’m dragging as many people to the finish line with me as possible this year, including YOU. Yes, you. You can do it. I have faith in you. We can do this together.

And if you want to attend NaNoWriMo meetups/write-ins and meet other participants, make sure to set your region to Los Angeles on the NaNoWriMo website—you’ll then get emails from our Municipal Liaisons about events in the area and have access to the regional forum, where someone will soon start a UCLA thread for arranging on-campus meetups (and I’ll probably be at all of those).

Stay tuned for a blog post about why I do NaNoWriMo! That’s all I’ll be writing about for the next two months, by the way. Just a heads up.

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo is approaching!

  1. I’ve written four novels but never done NaNoWriMo. About to attempt it this year for the first time. Putting an outline together this month…. super nervous! Good to see you’re such a champ. That proves it can be done 🙂

  2. I might MIGHT just do this.

  3. Lol we all know you never finish anything you start Ricardo 😛

Leave a Reply

